brandnames-1-300x259

English is a weird language. There is no consistency in what you write and what you pronounce. My mother tongue is Hindi and in Hindi, you pronounce as you write and vice versa. Not the case with English. The fact is there are dozens of words which I have been pronouncing all wrong and have heard people doing the same. God knows how many times I have proven myself idiot when I was actually trying to sound smart! At some occasions, people have pinched me for wrong pronunciations and I flt so embarrassed. I still remember how I would pronounce words like Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Versace etc etc. I still don’t know how many words I have been getting all wrong but I guess I should save you from some embarrassment and humiliation. Just check the list below and see how you pronounce those words. And then check the pronunciation at Dictionary.com.

Here is my list.

  • Anarchy
  • Archive
  • Awry
  • Asthma
  • Banal
  • Bowl
  • Breakfast
  • Bury
  • Cache
  • Caveat
  • Chutzpah
  • Colonel
  • Comptroller
  • Chicanery
  • Debris
  • Demon
  • Dengue
  • Elite
  • Entrepreneur
  • Entourage
  • Epitome
  • Extempore
  • Facade
  • Folk
  • Gauge
  • Genre
  • Greenwich (as in GMT)
  • Hyperbole
  • Infamous
  • Lieutenant
  • Lingerie
  • Marijuana
  • Midget
  • Mojito
  • Monk
  • Mystique
  • Niche
  • Paradigm
  • Pizza
  • Poignant
  • Recipe
  • Subtle
  • Sweat
  • Tomb
  • Wednesday
  • Womb

In light of my non-expertise in English, I am sure this list is far from being complete. So, let me assure you, this list is going to grow only longer. Much longer.

Note – Image shown above is taken from Internet and doesn’t belong to me.

